ConceptKCTCS/KCTCSConcept News Item | Elizabethtown Community & Technical College

Five High Schools Compete in Annual Welding Competition

Mar 14, 2012 - | 02:18 PM -

Thirty-five high school students from five area school districts participated in the fourth annual welding contest on March 9, sponsored by Elizabethtown Community and Technical College’s welding program.

This year the competition was named posthumously in honor of Tim Turner, a former ECTC welding associate professor who served as program coordinator. The “Tim Turner Memorial Welding Classic” was named to honor his dedication and legacy to the ECTC welding program. Turner was named to the inaugural class of ECTC’s Distinguished Alumni Program in 2006.

“We wanted to find a way to acknowledge the remarkable contributions that Tim Turner made to this program and the college,” said Jared Spalding, welding program coordinator. “What better way than to name this competition after him.” Turner’s mother, Martha Turner, attended the competition to represent his family.

David McCoy, welding instructor at Meade County Area Technology Center, said, “If it weren’t for Tim Turner, I wouldn’t be where I am today. He built this program into one of the top programs in the country, and truly cared about each of his students. He was an intelligent, dedicated leader in this field and I’m forever grateful to have had the opportunity to learn from him.”

The competition is also supported by area businesses, including Lincoln Electric Company, Modern Supply Company and ESAB who donated consumables and door prizes for the event. “This competition gives welding students an opportunity to test their skills in a college environment, and possibly win some valuable prizes to support their careers,” said Spalding. “We are very grateful for the support of local companies who donate some wonderful prizes for the students and their schools.”

Sparks flew as the students did their best to demonstrate their skills in several different skills. The students were judged on individual skills, and the teams were judged as a whole as well.

Schools competing included Area Technology Centers in Breckinridge County, Corbin, Franklin County, Meade County, and Nelson County. Prizes and trophies were awarded to the winners as follows:

Team Competition

1st Place – Franklin County Team 2

2nd Place – Nelson County Team 2

3rd Place – Nelson County Team 1

4th Place– Franklin County Team 1

Individual Competitions

Shielded Metal Arc Welding (Stick Welding)

1st Place – Jimmy Harrod, Franklin County

2nd Place – Erik Pina, Franklin County

3rd Place – Wade Pile, Breckinridge County

4th Place – Jesse Martin, Nelson County

5th Place – Garrett Kenealy, Meade County

Gas Metal Arc Welding (MIG Welding)

1st Place – Hunter Hutchins, Nelson County

2nd Place – Austin Roberts, Franklin County

3rd Place – Josh Lopez, Franklin County

4th place – Eric Smith, Nelson County

5th Place – Michael Wade, Meade County

Flux Core Arc Welding

1st Place – Steven Durbin, Nelson County

2nd Place – Nick Winans, Franklin County

3rd Place – Brandon West, Franklin County

4th Place – Derek Miles, Nelson County

5th Place – Alex Carr, Breckinridge County

Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (TIG Welding)

1st Place – Cody Thompson, Nelson County

2nd Place – Dustin Decker, Nelson County

3rd Place – Tevon Clay, Franklin County

4th Place – Amanda Hurt, Meade County

5th Place – Brandon Howington, Corbin ATC

Wild Card

1st Place – Jason Durbin, Nelson County

2nd Place – Dalton Hensley, Franklin County

3rd Place – Kaleb Miller, Nelson County

4th Place – Tyler Eagle, Corbin ATC

5th Place – Tyler Fugate, Meade County