Board of Directors

The ECTC Board of Directors is composed of 10 members, seven of whom are appointed by the Governor of Kentucky for six-year terms. Three members are elected by faculty, staff and students, respectively, to represent their constituents. Faculty and staff representatives serve for three years, while the student representative is elected every year.

The duties of the board are to:

  • Recommend one (1) candidate for the college president/chief executive officer from three (3) candidates provided by the President of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System; 
  • Evaluate the college president/chief executive officer and advise the President of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System of his or her performance;
  • Approve budget requests for recommendation to the Kentucky Community and Technical College System;
  • Adopt and amend an annual operating budget and submit it through appropriate channels to the Board of Regents of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System for approval as to the compliance with its guidelines; and
  • Approve a strategic plan that is developed in coordination with local employers, civic leaders, campus constituents, and other postsecondary institutions in the region and that is consistent with the strategic agenda of the General Assembly.

 Current Members:

Claudio Monzon ~ Chairperson
Claudio L. Monzon, Elizabethtown, is Central Kentucky Market Executive/Senior Vice President for Retail Lending with Citizens Union Bank. A graduate of the University of Louisville, he is a member of the Elizabethtown Rotary Club and the Lincoln Trail Venture Group. He and his wife, Donna, have six children.
Timothy D. Gossett ~ Vice Chairperson
Tim Gossett, Brandenburg, retired as vice president of Member Services and Marketing with Meade County RECC. A graduate of Eastern Kentucky University, he is a member of the Meade County ethics commission and the University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Council. Tim is excited to serve on the ECTC board and will strive to help the college be a valuable asset to the communities it serves. He and his wife, Felicia reside in Meade County.
Robert K. Claycomb ~ Secretary
Robert K. Claycomb, Hodgenville, is a self-employed attorney. He is a graduate of Transylvania University and the Salmon P. Chase College of Law at Northern Kentucky University. He serves as chair of Lincoln Trail Area Development District and as a member of the Executive Committee of the Kentucky Council on Area Development Districts. He and his wife, Lynn, have three children and a grandchild.
Carolyn Thomason
My involvement with ECTC began when I was asked to teach classes by Carla Hornback who was one of my former elementary school students. I was later invited to the Board by Dr. Thelma White in 2006. I served as Chairperson 2008-16 and am proud to continue to represent my community on the Board. It has been especially rewarding to see the Leitchfield campus established, and my vision is to expand our local campus to better serve the community I love.
Bonnie Cecil
My background is education; having taught 29 years in the Nelson County School District, served on the elementary level, middle school and high school site-based councils and was elected to the Nelson County Board of Education. The ECTC Board is a continuation of my education experience. Kentucky needs its citizens to be either career or college ready; ECTC provides for both. I am a native of Nelson County, married to Sam and have one daughter, Emma.
Dorothy Johnson
Dorothy Weaver Johnson, Elizabethtown, is the Regional Vice President of Operations with Superior Maintenance Co. She earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration from Birmingham Southern College and a Master of Science Degree in Public Administration from Western Kentucky University. Johnson is also a small business owner of Kaizen Training & Consulting. She has worked on projects such as United Way, the Family Resource Center, Junior Achievement, CASA and other nonprofit organizations.
Dr. John T. Isaacs Jr.
Dr. John T. Isaacs, Jr., DDS, is a dentist in Springfield. He attended the University of Kentucky and graduated from the UK College of Dentistry. Dr. Isaacs is a Colonel in the Kentucky National Guard, and he serves as a member of the board of directors for the Springfield Tourism Commission, Springfield Water & Sewer Commission, and Central Kentucky Community Theatre. He and his wife, Kelly, have five children.
M. Carla Hornback ~ Faculty Representative
Carla Hornback (Coxs Creek, KY), a Professor at ECTC and a full time faculty member since 1991, has served as a trainer in the areas of Leadership, Team Development, and Strategic Planning. She was one of twenty faculty to launch KCTCS distance learning, served as Chair of the Division of Arts and Humanities, and served as the KCTCS Communication Curriculum Chair. Currently she serves as the ECTC Quality Enhancement Plan Chair.
Samantha Manire ~ Staff Representative
As an alumna of Elizabethtown Community College, I am passionate about the college and the services it provides. My vision is that the college be seen as the premier institution for higher education in the region with its innovation in programming and services. As the Staff Representative, I am committed to listening to the staff body and representing our collective voice. Staff are, after all, the heartbeat of the institution.
Jarrett Cox ~ Student Representative
Jarrett Cox, Cub Run, is a sophomore Computer Information Systems major. He is a 2011 graduate of Hart County High School and he serves as President of ECTC's Student Government Association.

Additional Information:




suggest changes to this page: